Publisher: Self-Published

Divider

{Review} Take Them by Storm by Marie Landry

January 12, 2015 Review 0 ★★★★

{Review} Take Them by Storm by Marie LandryTake Them by Storm by Marie Landry
Series: Angel Island #3
Published by Self-Published on 01/06/2015
Genres: New Adult
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Add to Goodreads
AmazonKobo

This book is a standalone companion novel to Waiting for the Storm and After the Storm.

Sadie Fitzgerald has always been different, and not just because she makes her own clothes and would rather stay home watching Doctor Who than party with kids her age. When it’s time to leave Angel Island for college, Sadie is eager to put her old life behind her. Small-minded people and rumors have plagued her for years, but with the love of her adoptive family, the O’Dells, Sadie has learned to embrace who she is. Now she’s not afraid to admit the rumors about her are true: she’s gay.

For the first time in her life, Sadie feels free to be herself. She dives into college life and begins volunteering at the local LGBT center, where she discovers her small-town upbringing left holes in her education about life outside Angel Island.

The world is a bigger and more accepting place than Sadie ever imagined. She’s finally found where she belongs, but with the reappearance of someone from her past, an unexpected new friendship, and a chance at love, Sadie soon realizes she still has a lot to learn about life, friendship, and love.

Cover Talk

Purple is my favourite colour, so I may be a bit biased here, but I love the cover. It’s eye catching, and quirky, just like Sadie. It actually matches very closely the descriptions of the clothing she wears and makes in the book, so it’s not another girl in a pretty dress cover that has NOTHING to do with the book. Nothing against those covers, because hey, they can be absolutely BEAUTIFUL, but after a while they become overdone when they have no connection to the plot. Alas, I digress.

My Expectations

I love Marie Landry’s books, and have been looking forward to Sadie’s story since she first told me about it so I was pretty sure I would like this book. However, 2014 had me in a god awful slump, and I didn’t want to read anything with dead mothers in it at the moment. That said, I decided to persevere and read Take Them by Storm since I had been looking forward to it for a while now.

My Thoughts

Marie Landry has done it, yet again! Take Them by Storm had me captivated from the first chapter, and I found myself reading for long stretches throughout the day and night, pushing aside other things to make time for Sadie, Ella, and River, as I returned to those loveable group of friends one last time.

While Take Them by Storm picks up a few weeks after After the Storm ends, it can be read as a standalone novel. Sadie is the protagonist, or I should say star of the book, as she really does shine. Whereas in After the Storm, Sadie was bubbly but self-conscious, and dealing with a lot of heavy things, in this book, she has the chance to truly get outside of her comfort zone and expand her horizons, as she starts at Loyola College while living with her best friend, River. Away from her unloving and bigoted parents and cruel high school peers, Sadie has the opportunity to volunteer at a local LGBTQ Rainbow Centre as part of her placement, allowing her to further grow confidence in herself, her identity, and to develop a sense of community for the first time in her life. (And if you’ve read any of Marie’s other books, particularly The Game Changer, you also get to see some familiar faces in Bellevue which was SO fun as a fan and reader!)

I really appreciated the complexity that Marie Landry gave to Sadie’s story, and character. She wasn’t defined by her sexual orientation, but identifying as a lesbian was still important to her. Not every relationship worked out picture perfect with a happily ever after story, nor was Sadie’s story one of doom or gloom. There was a little of both, and Sadie spent a lot of being happy, making mistakes, and just generally trying to figure out who she was and what she wanted – in other words, she was a typical college student! I also LOVED that the LGBTQA+ spectrum was represented, or discussed, including bisexual, pansexual, intersex, asexual, trans*, queer, and two-spirited identities. There was also a bisexual character (she actually read more pansexual to me, but nonetheless), and thankfully there was no bi-erasure, as can often happen. Sadie also gets served the same treatment as Landry’s other female protagonists, with a few steamy bedroom scenes of her own. No fade to black just because it is a LGBTQ romance, yay!

Although a LOT of things worked for me, one thing that didn’t really was one of the romantic relationships Sadie has towards the end of the book. Without spoiling anything, I had just never gotten the same kind of chemistry with the character as I did with some of the other female characters. It also seemed to happen very quickly, and then there was about a month’s jump forward in time, which made things seem even more rushed and made it a bit difficult for me to be all swoony and excited over them. That said, this was one thing in a sea of many things that I did really like!

In the end, Take Them by Storm was a whirlwind ride through Sadie’s first few months of college, and the highs and lows that came with it. I’d recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great contemporary read, whether you have read Waiting for the Storm and After the Storm and are looking to continue the story, or are looking for a great read about a young woman coming into her own with a wonderful group of friends. Also, being the last book, I am sad to leave this series behind! I’ve had some good laughs and cries over all three books. But I can’t wait to see what Landry has up her sleeve as she moves on to new characters, places and stories.  I’m sure they will be just as swoon, cry and laughter worthy as her others!

4 Stars

Divider

{Cover Reveal} Take Them By Storm by Marie Landry

November 11, 2014 Cover Reveal 0

I’m very excited to take part yet again in a cover reveal for one of my favourite Canadian and self-published authors, Marie Landry! Take Them by Storm is the third and final book in the Angel Island series (but it can be read as a standalone), and so now I’ll have helped reveal all of this series covers. Read on to view the wonderful cover, and see my 5 reasons why you should read this book or the entire series.

READY?

… 3 …

… 2 …

… 1! ..

cover for Take Them by Storm (Angel Island #3) by Marie Landry - features a girl in black lace stockings, purple converse shoes and dress sitting on old suitcases against a purple backdrop.

Take Them By Storm by Marie Landry
Series: Angel Island #3
Published by Self-Published on January 6, 2015
Genres: New Adult
Format: eBook
Add to Goodreads
Amazon

This book is a standalone companion novel to Waiting for the Storm and After the Storm. The books do not need to be read together or in order, but please note that this synopsis contains mild spoilers for After the Storm.

Sadie Fitzgerald has always been different, and not just because she makes her own clothes and would rather stay home watching Doctor Who than party with kids her age. When it’s time to leave Angel Island for college, Sadie is eager to put her old life behind her. Small-minded people and rumors have plagued her for years, but with the love of her adoptive family, the O’Dells, Sadie has learned to embrace who she is. Now she’s not afraid to admit the rumors about her are true: she’s gay.

For the first time in her life, Sadie feels free to be herself. She dives into college life and begins volunteering at the local LGBT center, where she discovers her small-town upbringing left holes in her education about life outside Angel Island.

The world is a bigger and more accepting place than Sadie ever imagined. She’s finally found where she belongs, but with the reappearance of someone from her past, an unexpected new friendship, and a chance at love, Sadie soon realizes she still has a lot to learn about life, friendship, and love.

5 Reasons You Should Read Take Them by Storm & the Angel Island series

  1. Sadie is my all-time favourite character from the series and this is HER book. This girl is FIERCE and dances to the beat of her own drum, but she isn’t some manic pixie dream girl. She’s got a cool sense of style, stands up for her friends, and also identifies as a lesbian. I’m looking forward to seeing a relationship unfold for Sadie as Landry does romance so well (see point #5).
  2. Like books that will make you cry? I’ve cried reading every book in this series! Both happy and sad tears have been shed.
  3. Numerous swoon worthy book boyfriends. That are all respectful and caring. No asshats here! Or love triangles (not that I’m entirely against love triangles, but let’s admit, it can be a tad overdone).
  4. Each book features great depictions of family dynamics, and friendships – both the good and the bad. All different kinds of love are covered, and romantic love isn’t praised as the only kind of love or the most important.
  5. I used to say I’m not a fan of romance books and that I don’t read them, but Marie Landry’s books, and in particular, this series, have made me reevaluate my feelings against the genre. I’m a convert! So even if you don’t think you like contemporary romance, I still urge you to give these books a try!
Not convinced?

Check out my reviews of the previous two books (which can also be read as standalones) below by clicking on the covers.

 waiting for the storm   after the storm

 

About Marie Landry

Marie-Landry-Author-Pic

Marie has always been a daydreamer; since early childhood she's had a passion for words and a desire to create imaginary worlds, so it only seemed natural for her to become a writer. She resides in Ontario, Canada, and most days you can find her writing, reading, blogging about writing and reading, listening to U2, watching copious amounts of TV on DVD, or having grand adventures with her nephews and niece. She's a hopeless romantic, an unapologetic eavesdropper (occupational hazard), an equally unapologetic squeeing fangirl, and a lover of swoonworthy book and TV characters.

Cover Reveal Organized by: YA Bound Book Tours

Divider

{Review} After the Storm (Angel Island #2) by Marie Landry

April 15, 2014 Review 2 ★★★★

{Review} After the Storm (Angel Island #2) by Marie LandryAfter the Storm by Marie Landry
Series: Angel Island #2
Published by Self-Published on April 8, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 247
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Add to Goodreads
Amazon

For most people, starting senior year at a new high school would be a nightmare, but for Ella O’Dell it’s the new beginning she desperately needs. Two months after her mother’s death, she’s ready to leave behind the rebellious, unhappy person she became when she found out her mom was dying. 

When Ella meets River Maracle and Sadie Fitzgerald, she begins to learn it’s okay to be herself, even if that means being different. River and Sadie aren’t ashamed of their misfit status—River grew up on a reservation, and his mother is the school counselor; Sadie stands out with her funky homemade clothes, and is a master at ignoring the whispered rumors that have plagued her since the beginning of high school. 

Ella finds a kindred spirit in Sadie, and something more in River. After almost a year of pretending to be someone she’s not, she finally embraces life and allows herself to have fun without constant guilt. But despite her budding happiness, something is off with her new life. She doesn’t want to dwell on the past, but Angel Island is a small place, and she soon realizes her demons are harder to outrun than she thought…

After the Storm is a standalone companion novel to Waiting for the Storm

Disclosure:I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

COVER TALK 

As I said in my After the Storm cover reveal post, I love how it continued the beach theme from Waiting for the Storm, but that it was also bright and much more cheerful looking. The multi-coloured umbrella is like the rainbow you see after the storm (… I see what you did there now, Marie!) and it adds great visual appeal.

EXPECTATIONS

I really loved Waiting for the StormAlmost a year later, I find myself thinking about Charlotte, especially when a storm is a brewing! When Marie told me that Charlotte’s sister, Ella, would be getting her own book I was really excited!

MY THOUGHTS

After the Storm picks up shortly where Waiting for the Storm left off, returning us to Angel Island, the O’Dell family and Ezra. When we last saw Ella, she was just at the beginning of her transformation, as she shed her mean girl persona and began the journey to dealing with the grief she felt from her mother’s recent death and the guilt for not being by her side during her last months. In After the Storm, she is starting high school on the island, and along the way, she forms a misfit friendship trio with the eccentric but fashionable Sadie, and her best friend, and River, a Mohawk boy from Tyendinaga.  While it continues the story from the first book, it can also be read as a standalone novel!

I really enjoyed seeing the real Ella in After the Storm! She’s not a mean spirited, wild party girl who doesn’t care for her family. She’s actually quite reserved, except when it comes to sticking up for her family or friends, and prefers a quiet night in with friends. Ella’s rebuilding her relationship with her sister and Dad, and learning to deal with her grief in a healthier manner. She doesn’t know if she is always making the right decision, but she tries her best. She’s empathetic and a good friend. I could actually see myself hanging out with her in high school, and I could relate a bit to her close knit misfit group of friends. Speaking of friends, I almost think that Sadie and River steal the show a bit! I absolutely fell in love with them, Sadie in particular. There provide the friendship and support that Ella needs, but they are fully developed, complex characters that stand on their own. We also got to Charlotte and Ezra’s relationship progress, and some plot lines continued from Waiting for the Storm, which was nice. I liked seeing their relationship through Ella’s POV, and I really liked Ezra’s friendship with Ella! 

Angel Island is a small town, and so there are hardships for anyone who is considered different, especially by their peers. The story also has a LGBT storyline that I think was done very well. I won’t go further into it because I don’t want to give too much away, but I just want to make note of it because the visibility of these stories and characters are important. Similarly, River is a teenager of colour, and is connected to his Mohawk culture, and grew up on the Tyendinaga reserve. He talks about stereotypes about indigenous people in Canada (Turtle Island/Kanata), and has experienced ostracization from his peers due to his heritage and race. For the most part, River’s storyline was also well done, although there were two instances that I was a bit weary about: River and his mother are described as stoic (a common stereotypical description of indigenous peoples) and a costume decision towards the end of the book (I’m still conflicted about whether it was problematic, or a chance to rebel against the media’s depiction….). River was a complex character, though, and didn’t fall into being a stereotype himself. I also liked how these two storylines and characters highlight the prejudice that still exists in Canada, much as it does in the US, as sometimes it isn’t talked about as much because we are seen as a diverse, multicultural, polite society. It’s nice to see it not swept under the rug in Canadian YA books!

In the end, After the Storm didn’t disappoint! I thoroughly enjoyed continuing on with these characters, and meeting new ones along the way. Marie Landry never fails to write engaging and emotional contemporary YA books! I highly recommend this book, whether you’ve read Waiting for the Storm or not, as you’ll be swept away by the characters before you know it.

JOIN THE CONVO!

Have you read Waiting for the Storm or After the Storm? If so, what are your thoughts? If not, are these books on your TBR list? Have you ever given a character a second chance? What is your favourite literary misfit friendship? 

4 Stars

Divider

{Cover Reveal} Marie Landry’s AFTER THE STORM

February 11, 2014 Cover Reveal, Giveaways 1

I’m very excited to be sharing some exciting bookish news from one of my favourite Canadian authors, Marie Landry (who I had the opportunity to meet at the Ontario Book Blogger Meet Up and she is as lovely in person as she is online!) today! One of my favourite books last year was Landry’s Waiting for the Stormwhich really stuck with me. When Marie let me in on the secret that she was writing a companion novel, this time from Charlotte’s sister Ella’s point-of-view I kind of squealed, no lie! I’m so happy to be part of the cover reveal for her latest literary endeavor and I can’t wait to return to Angel Island once again! Enough of me rambling, are you ready to see the cover, which Marie designed herself?

… 3 …

… 2 …

… 1! …

After the Storm by Marie Landry cover

 

Isn’t it beautiful? I especially love the similarities and contrast it has to Waiting for the Storm!

ABOUT THE BOOK!

After the Storm by Marie Landry
Published by Self-Published on April 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Add to Goodreads

For most people, starting senior year at a new high school would be a nightmare, but for Ella O’Dell it’s the new beginning she desperately needs. Two months after her mother’s death, she’s ready to leave behind the rebellious, unhappy person she became when she found out her mom was dying.

When Ella meets River Maracle and Sadie Fitzgerald, she begins to learn it’s okay to be herself, even if that means being different. River and Sadie aren't ashamed of their misfit status—River grew up on a reservation, and his mother is the school counselor; Sadie stands out with her funky homemade clothes, and is a master at ignoring the whispered rumors that have plagued her since the beginning of high school.

Ella finds a kindred spirit in Sadie, and something more in River. After almost a year of pretending to be someone she’s not, she finally embraces life and allows herself to have fun without constant guilt. But despite her budding happiness, something is off with her new life. She doesn't want to dwell on the past, but Angel Island is a small place, and she soon realizes her demons are harder to outrun than she thought…

About Marie Landry

Marie-Landry-Author-Pic

Marie has always been a daydreamer; since early childhood she's had a passion for words and a desire to create imaginary worlds, so it only seemed natural for her to become a writer. She resides in Ontario, Canada, and most days you can find her writing, reading, blogging about writing and reading, listening to U2, watching copious amounts of TV on DVD, or having grand adventures with her nephews and niece. She's a hopeless romantic, an unapologetic eavesdropper (occupational hazard), an equally unapologetic squeeing fangirl, and a lover of swoonworthy book and TV characters.

EXCERPT

I’ve never seen a storm like this. Lightning flashes across the sky like a strobe light, leaving white-hot imprints burned into my eyes whenever I blink. The thunder is low and insistent, rumbling like an angry jungle cat.

Charlotte stands by the sliding glass doors, her arms wrapped around herself as she watches Mother Nature’s lightshow outside. Every time the thunder booms, rattling the glass and vibrating through the floor, her shoulders jerk a little bit, but she still stands there, watching.

“Charlotte?”

This time she really jumps, whirling around and clutching at her chest. A small laugh escapes her when she sees me, and she beckons me closer to stand with her. I expect her to speak, but she remains silent, staring out at the dark sky and the churning water of the lake. It’s been raining nonstop for the last three days, and I’ve found her countless times watching it from her room or from this spot in the living room.

“I’m sorry your party was ruined,” I say, breaking the silence, which makes me uncomfortable even though I know it shouldn’t. The last year has been hell for us, partly because I’ve made it that way. Now that we’re finally finding our way back to each other I feel like I need to fill all the silences, just like I need to fill the cracks in our relationship.

Charlotte looks at me, her bright blue eyes a mirror image of my own. Mom’s eyes. The lone physical trait we share. “It’s not your fault. Not like you control the weather.” She smiles, and I relax slightly. Sometimes I wonder how she forgave me so easily for the way I treated her. I was awful to her, pushed her away at every turn, made her feel like I didn’t care about her or our family.

I wonder how she looks at me and doesn’t see the person I was even just a few weeks ago—that girl who was so full of resentment. But she has forgiven me. I can see it in her eyes, feel it when she embraces me, know it in the way she tells me things and confides in me.

She’s a bigger person than I am. A better one, too.

“Still.” I bump her hip with mine. “You and Ezra made such a big deal about my birthday a few days ago, I wanted to do something special for you.”

Her smile softens and I have a sudden urge to hug her. We’re just a few days shy of being a year apart—Irish twins, as our mom always used to say. Apparently I was supposed to be born on Charlotte’s first birthday, but I guess I had other ideas, because I was three days early. Despite the miniscule age difference, Charlotte’s so mature that sometimes it feels like she’s much older. There are times, like now, when she looks at me with Mom’s face, and I just want to curl into her arms and be the baby sister.

My phone chimes in my pocket, and I glance at the screen, trying to keep my face blank. “We’re still going to Ezra’s for dinner, right?”

“Mmhmm. Just waiting for a break in the storm.” She’s looking outside again; she appears mesmerized, the way she stares almost unblinkingly. I want to ask what she’s thinking, but I’m pretty sure I already know. We’ve talked about Mom in the last few weeks, but it’s still a bit of a touchy subject. I know that talking about her makes Charlotte feel better and because I feel like I owe it to her I try my hardest to open up or at least listen. It hurts though. For so many reasons.

My phone chimes again but I don’t need to look at it to know who it is. I clear my throat and shift from foot to foot. “It doesn’t look like it’s going to let up anytime soon. Maybe we should just go.”

Charlotte wrinkles her nose. “I guess you’re right.” She grabs a giant umbrella from the stand by the door. “This’ll probably blow inside out the second we get outside, but it’s worth a shot.”

I reach past her to open the sliding glass doors, and I’m immediately hit in the face with a cold spray of rain. I sputter as I shove Charlotte forward, knowing she won’t open the umbrella until she’s outside the house—she’s not superstitious about much, but Mom always told us never to open an umbrella inside, so Charlotte won’t. The umbrella goes up and she pulls me close to her side, wrapping an arm around my waist as we run down the stairs and across the small strip of sand to Ezra’s back deck. The rain doesn’t fall on our heads, but the wind whips it into our faces and soaks our clothes.

Charlotte lets out a little shriek and is almost wrenched away from me when a gust of wind yanks at the umbrella, forcing it inside out. I tighten my grip on her waist, and when I feel her shaking I look at her face and realize she’s laughing.

“Stupid piece of crap!” She throws the umbrella onto Ezra’s deck and kicks it. I can barely hear her over the competing roar of the thunder and the lake as the waves crash against the sand. She doesn’t bother to knock on the back door, she just opens it and pushes me through. We stumble into Ezra’s house, laughing uncontrollably as we drip everywhere.

“Surprise!”

Charlotte screams, and even though I knew it was coming, I jump a little. Charlotte dissolves into embarrassed giggles as everyone surrounds her, wishing her a happy birthday and telling her they’ll hug her once she’s dried off. I meet Ezra’s eyes over everyone else’s heads and he winks at me.

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

SALE!

ATS-CoverReveal-Celebration

For a limited time Waiting for the Storm is available for only $.99! I seriously recommend this one for all contemporary fans, a 4.5 star read that is reminiscent of Deb Caletti and it will make you swoon, laugh and cry!

Get it at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Kobo, Smashwords

LET’S CHAT!

What do you think of the cover? Have you read Waiting for the Storm? Is After the Storm on your TBR list?

Divider

{Review} Waiting for the Storm by Marie Landry

June 17, 2013 Review 9 ★★★★½

{Review} Waiting for the Storm by Marie LandryWaiting for the Storm by Marie Landry
Published by Self-Published on April 9, 2013
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 204
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Add to Goodreads
Amazon

Seventeen-year-old Charlotte O’Dell knows this summer is going to suck. Her mother just died, her sister hates her, and her dad has completely checked out. Fulfilling her mother’s final wish, the family heads to Angel Island for the summer to stay in a beach house her mother once loved.

After a year of being shut away taking care of her mother, Charlotte is numb and practically afraid of her own shadow; she hopes going to the island will give her the time and space she needs to begin healing, and an opportunity to bring her family back together. When she meets her mysterious neighbour, Ezra, it doesn’t take long for Charlotte to confess the issues she’s developed. Ezra begins giving Charlotte assignments to get over her fears, and although she accepts his tasks, all she really wants is to be with him. When she’s with Ezra, she’s able to forget the hollow ache in her heart and the fact that her family is falling apart. But Ezra has secrets…

Can Charlotte pull what’s left of her family together, mend her broken heart, and allow herself to fall for Ezra? Or is it all just a storm waiting to happen? 

Disclosure:I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

//  COVER TALK  //

The cover is very pretty! The blues and greens are eye-catching, and I like the simplicity of it. The scene depicted on the cover and the title are perfect and make total sense after reading Charlotte’s story.

//  EXPECTATIONS  //

I was looking forward to this one after I read The Game Changer by Marie Landry and really enjoyed it. This one sounded really emotional and like my kind of book so when Marie put out a call for reviewers I jumped at the chance!

//  MY THOUGHTS  // 

Just as with my review of The Game Changer, I feel I need to give a little disclaimer: I interact often with the author, Marie Landry, often on Twitter and on her book blog. However, while personally knowing an author can sometimes cloud a reviewers judgement, I found that right off the gate I was looking more critically at what I was reading, perhaps in a subconscious attempt to counter-act any favouritism. Despite that, I quickly found myself falling in love with this book. Anyways, I’d just like to say that this review is my honest opinion – as always.

This book is full of great, complex characters! Charlotte appeared to have it all together on the outside, but was really struggling with many anxieties and her own grief on the inside. I loved that she was a bookworm and blogger! Charlotte’s connection with books felt authentic, especially while she was grieving, and I loved reading about her time at the library and her blog post about the importance of reading. Gabriella/Ella, her younger sister, was a handful for sure! Her character was very jarring in contrast to Charlotte, and the spite and hurt that was directed towards her older sister in her time of grief was so painful to read. Ella’s character development and the bond between these sisters had me crying by the end! Ezra was a great character as well, and was a very thoughtful, caring guy who had many more layers to him than I originally judged (I’ll admit, I thought he was going be a bit boring at first, but Marie Landry proved me wrong!).

I really liked how Charlotte and Ezra’s relationship was built around their developing friendship throughout the book. However, at times, things could get a bit cheesy between the two of them, and at first I was worried it was going to be an instance of instalove. But they did take it slow, despite how comfortable the two were with each other upon first meeting. Like I said before, Ezra was a truly nice guy, demonstrated by not only his thoughtful and caring words, but more importantly, his actions. I think in the end I felt more of an intense friendship chemistry between them than I did romantic love, but I can accept that these two were perfect for each other at that specific point in their lives.

As much as there was romance in the plot, this book really focused on grief and the many ways you can love someone: as a friend, as a family member, as a romantic interest, etc. I felt the portrayal of love and grief to be incredibly realistic, both in how it affects one individually and as a family. I’ve had a super close friend lose a parent recently and I could see her grief, thoughts and actions mirrored in Charlotte and her family. The last few chapters were BEAUTIFUL (and really swayed me to up my rating to a 4.5 from a 3.5!!). I was tearing up and crying from chapters 19 onwards. Landry dealt with grief and depression in such a positive, but authentic way and my heart was just bursting with happiness at the end!

Waiting for the Storm really reminded me in some ways of Stay and Deb Caletti’s style of writing. If you are looking for a good (Canadian!) contemporary read that deals with love and grief authentically and has complex characters with great character development (and I mean, really, who wouldn’t want that?) then I definitely recommend you check out this book!

// Share your thoughts… //

Have you read Waiting for the Storm? What did you think? Is this book making its way onto your TBR list/pile? What are your favourite books about grief and loss?

4.5 Stars

Divider